Real Time Traffic

All Discovery 5 related discussions
Chickman
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:09 pm

Real Time Traffic

Post by Chickman » Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:00 am

Hi everyone 1st time poster so be gentle! Does anyone know if there is a way to have the real time traffic information display minutes of delay? At the moment it only seems able to show level of traffic as in light, heavy etc along with location and distance. All other Nav systems I have had previously always give delay minutes to help you choose an alternative route.
Thanks
18my Discovery TD6, HSE Luxury , Indus Silver, Dynamic Pack (int&ext), HUD, 22in 5025 wheels, black roof rails.


Woodenman
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Real Time Traffic

Post by Woodenman » Sun Nov 04, 2018 11:35 pm

I can't get mine to show any traffic at all....it just no traffic info available... grateful for small mercies and all that....


Magpie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 6:49 pm

Re: Real Time Traffic

Post by Magpie » Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:32 am

Have you bought a data SIM card? You need not o enable all the connected services (for Nav features)


Woodenman
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Real Time Traffic

Post by Woodenman » Mon Nov 05, 2018 7:14 pm

Oh, ok thanks.

I just assumed it was like my other cars, that give you traffic info for free...with no sim required.
Good ol' LR


jimbg
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 8:30 am

Re: Real Time Traffic

Post by jimbg » Mon Nov 05, 2018 9:44 pm

Which car gave it to you for free?


Woodenman
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Real Time Traffic

Post by Woodenman » Mon Nov 05, 2018 9:55 pm

Maybe I'm misunderstanding what this system does, but my BMW M5 gives me traffic updates, delay times, re routes etc etc for nothing. So does my Merc and I'm pretty sure the Cayman does too, though I never use the Nav much as I don't go far in it.

I've never bought a sim in my life to get traffic updates.


jimbg
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 8:30 am

Re: Real Time Traffic

Post by jimbg » Mon Nov 05, 2018 10:04 pm

I think you will find that 3 years RTC were included in the price of the car. Certainly the 5 series estate I owned did.

After 3 years ( like the map updates ) you have to pay.


Magpie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 6:49 pm

Re: Real Time Traffic

Post by Magpie » Mon Nov 05, 2018 10:28 pm

You do get Connected Services (including Traffic) for free for 3 years.. but JLR does not provide the data connection..(apart from USA), frustrating I know... so you need to buy a data SIM card... I bought mine from Amazon..

Apologies if posted twice, “submit” button froze..


Ian c
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:58 am

Re: Real Time Traffic

Post by Ian c » Tue Nov 06, 2018 7:39 pm

Hi yes sim is required but hay ho when we picked our first edition up it was never mentioned ive had merc vw audi volvo not had a problem or had to purchase sim but good old landrover you do .
We drove to spain few weeks after purchase as couldn't work out why we new nothing about route untill on our return as jlr what was up with systems they said have you put a sim in i asked am i a mind reader was never mentioned at hand over uve to be up on there poor system. But still love the car good job with its incredible depreciation.


Woodenman
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Real Time Traffic

Post by Woodenman » Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:16 pm

Right...This is all news to me......

So it appears I need to buy a sim for traffic updates. I must say, I think I've owned cars after the three years and still had this. I'm sure I have. It's ridiculous it's not available at least for the three years though.

So this SIM. What is it I need and where does it go please?
Presume I need a data contract for it and so any views on how much data and actually, is it even worth it.

Every day's a school day with this Landy


Post Reply

Return to “Main Disco 5 chat”