4G Sim??

All Discovery 5 related discussions
Post Reply
penners
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:09 pm

Post by penners » Sat Mar 04, 2017 5:31 pm

Hi

Does anyone know whether the Discovery 5 will accept a 4G sim to enable all the live functionality and Wifi hotspot features?? Tried to look online / in manual and it's not clear whether it's 3G or 4G

Seaview36
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:05 am

Post by Seaview36 » Sat Mar 04, 2017 6:17 pm

Just picked up a 12 month sim from 3 shop. £30 for 12gb. Be interesting to see how long it lasts for. Fitting it tomorrow.

Lee Jackson
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 1:03 pm

Post by Lee Jackson » Sat Mar 04, 2017 9:06 pm

Hi Penners,

I have been told and from what I have seen on the net its the Older 3G. But I would take that with a grain of salt.

What I would do is google Does my phone/Device support 3G or 4G. Then relate that back to the car. ie I'm sure in the settings of the car you could find out. Sadly still have to wait 120 days. LOL

https://www.quora.com/How-do-I-know-whe ... ort-or-not

penners
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:09 pm

Post by penners » Sun Mar 05, 2017 11:34 am

Thanks for the replies - I will have a look through the settings and see if that gives a clue....

I've also emailed JLR technical support / dealer to see if they know........

Deleted User 316

Post by Deleted User 316 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 12:25 pm

Just bought a 4g sim and it works fine. It shows in the vehicle as 3G so perhaps that's the maximum it can go.

penners
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:09 pm

Post by penners » Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:30 pm

Thanks Mike that's useful; I didn't want to go for a 4G and it not work at all!

penners
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:09 pm

Post by penners » Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:35 pm

sorry, forgot to ask is it a "micro" sim as the manual suggests rather than a "standard" one; how much data did you go for?

Deleted User 316

Post by Deleted User 316 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:55 pm

Yes it's a Micro sim. I wanted to review the capability before I committed to a contract so bought a 1GB Vodafone sim for £10. At least that way I can check how fast the features use data. Will report back.

penners
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:09 pm

Post by penners » Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:00 pm

thanks Mike - I think I'm probably going to go for a rolling monthly contract sim, again so I can adjust the data depending on how much I use - was thinking of starting with 4-5GB per month as we use spotify

penners
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:09 pm

Post by penners » Fri Mar 10, 2017 8:07 pm

Response from JLR technical support

"I can confirm that its capability is a 3G speed. However, if you purchase a 4G sim, it will automatically default to 3G speed regardless."

Post Reply